Search Real Knowledge
View Sitemap | Search Tips
 Home   Advertise  File Downloads Computer Center Windows XP Tips Vista Tips  Glossary  News Letters  Resources 

DNS Server Types - Definition

DNS Server Types - Primary DNS Server: A Primary (master) DNS Server can be setup to be a zone transfer server. Zone transfer will allow the DNS Server to query other DNS Servers if it is unable to resolve the request. A Primary Server maintains the master copy of DNS information. Most DNS zones also have at least one slave or Secondary server. Secondary DNS Server: A Secondary DNS server uses Zone Transfers to collect the DNS database from its Primary DNS Server. Caching DNS Server: A Caching DNS Server does not maintain any static DNS records. All of its records are created by resolving DNS queries to a Primary or Secondary DNS server. Caching DNS servers thus add redundancy to the DNS namespace.


Amazon Warehouse Deals • Enjoy Deep Discounts

Return Back To Computer Glossary


Want To Get The Best Prices Available?